Rumer’s “Boys Don’t Cry” set for May Release

Rumer will release an album of cover versions called “Boys don’t Cry” in May 2011. The album will be a compilation of Rumers interpretations of “little known” 70s songs by such famous artists as Ritchie Havens, Isaac Hayes, Tim Hardin, Paul Williams, Stephen Bishop, John Sebastian and others.

Realising that she wouldn’t be able to follow up on “Seasons of My Soul” with an LP containing her own material quickly enough to keep up the momentum, she decided to do the cover versions.

The tracklist was released on her Facebook page yesterday:
P.F. Sloan – Jimmy Webb, Be Nice To Me – Todd Rundgren, It Could Be The First Day – Richie Havens, Travelin’ Boy – Paul Williams, A Man Needs A Maid – Neil Young, Soulsville – Isaac Hayes, The Same Old Tears On A New Background – Stephen Bishop, Soul Rebel – Bob Marley, Flyin’ Shoes – Townes Van Zandt, Home Thoughts From Abroad – Clifford T Ward, We Will – Gilbert O Sullivan, My Cricket – Leon Russell

Special Edition:
Sara Smile -Hall and Oates, Just For A Moment – Ronnie Lane, Andre Johray – Tim Hardin, Brave Awakening – Terry Reid, Welcome Back – John Sebastian.

Although these songs may be obscure for todays generation, there are some well known songs on the list.

Rumer’s next own album is scheduled for summer 2013 and will be titled – according to Rumer – “Into Color” and will reflect the direction she wants to take with her music in the future. “if ‘Seasons of My Soul’ is blue, ‘Into Color’ is going to be yellow – sunnier, more hopeful, happier”, she says.

Hits: 1

One Response

  1. William
    15. March 2012

Give a Comment